skincare in Winter

20140722-130715-47235973.jpg

 

It’s currently Winter in Sydney and every year at this time of year my skin goes into BITCH MODE. Bitch mode is characterised by random breakouts, dryness, dullness, dark circles, oiliness on top of dryness… you get the idea. As I’ve gotten a little older I’ve learnt to recognise the signs my skin is changing with the weather and combat it the following way:

Wrinkle4-medium-new

Mario Badescu Buttermilk Moisturizer (above)

1. Do a deep cleanse once a week. The rest of the week I’m pretty lazy and prefer just to use face wipes to remove makeup and generally clean my face. (Simple Skincare make the best ones I’ve found by the way). To do a deep cleanse, arm yourself with a face cloth and get thee to a basin of warm water. Press the cloth onto your face to open up the pores which will allow and products you use to work better. Consider the type of cleaner you’re using. If you’re dry like me never ever ever use a foaming cleanser, instead opt for a milk, cream or oil cleanser (my favourite). At this point I’ll occasionally add some oatmeal as a gentle exfoliator before I rinse off thoroughly. I always follow this by toning with rosewater (I like By Terry’s Source de Rose).

All of this can also be done in the shower. If I do it this way I’ll also exfoliate my body to get it all done at the same time.

2. Follow up with moisture. This doesn’t really need explaining other than that keeping your skin well hydrated is the key to preventing most types of breakouts (less oil production) and slows the skin’s ageing process. Below are some of my favourite products for face and body for this time of year. From top: Origins GinZing eye cream, Clarins Radiance Plus Glow Booster, Luxury Elixir Body Oil by Mecca Cosmetica, Clarins Extra Firming Body Cream.

download

s1600170-main-hero

1-mecca-meccaelixir

images Got any Winter skincare favourites I should know about?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

